One of the things that shocked me most about Jamaica, was discovering that many people go without running water or electricity for up to weeks at a time multiple times a year.

The first time this happened it was a real visceral moment to both my privilege and ignorance I grew up with. I never worried about these things, bar the odd power cut. But in Jamaica this happens in Jamaica often.

I was working on Livity Inspirations Farm in Albany, when I first experienced this for the first time. Kedela, the farms owner, phoned me and said I couldn’t come to work as the electricity was out, despite paying her bills and so we wouldn’t be able to use laptops etc.

Myself and the other volunteers still went and offered to get our hands dirty with some manual labour instead. When we had lunch Kedela explained this happens often with electricity and water, especially in remote areas like where her farm is situated. “It’ll be back when it’s back” was the timeline. A similar issue occurred during my stay during Port Antonio, where a loud bang in the near distance was instantly followed by darkness. We had no electricity for 48 hours. And so for those who can’t afford generators, this is a regular problem that has become normalised.

Adapt. Improvise. Overcome.
Beer bottle candles used in Port Antonio when we had no electricity.

In my second stint on the island, I stayed on a coffee farm, in the Blue Mountains. This farms water supply came solely from a nearby river. I considered it to be cleaner to use the water at its source. After all, the only differences was the water from the taps had been sat in reservoirs and then gone through pipes of undetermined hygiene.

Thus – my laundry and showering were done in the river. Washing in the river gave me a chance to experience cold plunging for the first time. This simple, yet challenging routine became something I incorporated into my daily routine. I would run, before cold plunging and washing. Testing my mental fortitude to stay in the cold water was something I really enjoyed, with my personal best at the end of my four week stay surpassing eight minutes.

Me in the river near the coffee farm I stayed on in the Blue Mountains

Many who heard of my circumstances back in England turned their noses up at the idea – maybe because they saw it as primitive or dirty I don’t know. But I saw so many benefits from the experience. I felt cleaner having finished washing in the river compared to washing in the shower. And the natural water improved my skin, clearing spots on my face and improving the eczema I have suffered with for years.

Living this simpler lifestyle was amazing, because I truly embraced it. You have to release some pride and vanity, to enjoy the magic of what you have in front of you!